page title icon

How To Reset A Blink Camera Back To Factory Settings

Home » Video » How To Reset A Blink Camera Back To Factory Settings

blink camera reset

If you have a Blink system set up for your home security cameras, you may need to reset your camera from time to time.

Can you factory reset a Blink camera? And If so, how do I reset my Blink camera? 

The process is simple!

Just about all Blink cameras have basically the same process for resetting them. These include:

Usually, you want to reset your camera when it has some issues that may arise. These include:

  • Your camera or Sync Module is not working correctly or offline.
  • You sold it or gave it away to someone else to use.

The first thing that you need to find is the reset button location. Where is the reset button on a Blink camera?

 Take a look at the back or bottom of the camera and look for a small pinhole. That is your reset button. You just need a small object like a paper clip to press it.

Before You Begin

If you hard reset your camera system to factory settings, you will lose all your configurations. This means that you will have to set up all your cameras again. If you want to avoid this and just need to reset to resolve an issue, I recommend just power cycling the system first.

This is done simply by unplugging your internet modem, waiting a few minutes, and plugging it back in. This is usually enough to resolve any issues with your Sync Module or cameras not working. If not, you can try doing the same power cycle process to your Sync Module.

If you still want to do a full factory reset, read on:

  1. Locate the reset button on the bottom of the camera.

    It will be a small hole that needs to have an object like a paper clip inserted into it to press the button.

  2. Press and hold the reset button for 30 seconds.

  3. Your camera should now be back to the factory defaults.

If you want to just reset the camera but not wipe out your Blink camera settings, you can also just press the button for 5 or so seconds. This will reset it and help resolve any camera issues you may have.

So, you gave away your Blink camera to a friend and want to know – how do I reset the Blink camera for a new owner?

This involves a reset of your Blink camera account where you will delete the camera from your system:

  1. Open your Blink app.
  2. Locate the camera in your system and delete it.
  3. Do the complete factory reset procedure shown above on the camera.

No. Unfortunately, there is no way to factory reset your Blink camera remotely since you must physically access the camera to reset it.

This can be done quickly in the Blink app if you just want to reset your password.

The easiest way is to go to our app’s login screen and click the “Forgot password” link. From there, you will be taken through the steps to create a new password.

FAQ

Do Blink cameras reset after a power outage?

Yes, after a power outage, the camera will reboot itself and automatically connect back to the system. However, it does not do a full factory reset.

Conclusion

So to recap, resetting your Blink camera involves locating a reset button for a Blink camera on your camera and pressing it for about 5 seconds. After that, your camera should be back to normal, including connecting to the system and starting a live security camera stream.

If you want a full factory reset, you must hold the button for over 30 seconds.

It’s an easy process and should help resolve any issues.